• August 7, 2020

Indiana rewrites bad vapor bill

Indiana and National vapor advocates scored a major victory on Friday night as the Indiana General Assembly voted to rewrite the state’s anti-competitive vapor industry regulations, according to a release from the Vapor Technology Association (VTA).

“The Indiana Smoke Free Alliance was formed to fight the unfair vapor products monopoly that passed two years ago; a monopoly that created significant burdens for small businesses to compete while using security provisions to create a market advantage for a few select business interests” said Amy Lane, President of the Indiana Smoke Free Alliance. Tony Abboud, executive director of the VTA, stated “The Indiana General Assembly overwhelmingly passed an overhaul of Indiana’s vapor products law.

Senate Bill 1 eliminates costly and unnecessary barriers to this emerging market while maintaining appropriate consumer safety provisions. We are honored to have had the opportunity to work with ISFA on this legislation. ISFA demonstrated professionalism, focus and steadfast resolve in the face of significant opposition. The result is that we have done what we set out to do and re-opened the state of Indiana to all vapor businesses who can now compete on a level playing field.”abboud

Senate Bill 1 creates a path to licensure for all manufacturers, distributors, and retailers who are seeking to sell vapor products in Indiana. The bill further aligns requirements for manufacturers doing business in Indiana with the requirements of the federal deeming rule. In addition, the legislation creates a clear path forward for online sales, removes arbitrary rulemaking authority from the ATC and onerous security requirements on manufacturers which created a monopoly in Indiana for a limited group of manufacturers, according to the release.

“A special thanks to Senator Randy Head, R-Logansport, and Rep. Matt Lehman, R-Berne, for their tireless efforts along with the Vapor Technology Association, the membership of the Indiana Smoke Free Alliance, as well as Matt Norris and Mike Leppert of Krieg DeVault, LLP,” said Amy Lane, president of Indiana Smoke-Free Alliance.

Senate Bill 1 now awaits the signature of Governor Eric Holcomb.